Books

Book Review: Finding Gobi by Dion Leonard

Note: This book review was originally posted on my previous site, Becky in China.

Title: Finding Gobi

Author: Dion Leonard

Material source: iBooks

My rating: 5 / 5 🌟

About the book:

Dion Leonard is an ultra-marathon racer, currently competing in a five day race across the Gobi Desert in Xinijang province, China. On day two of the race, he spots a little sandy coloured dog bouncing around the athletes. While running, he looks down and notices the dog, running alongside him stride for stride. After a day of running she curls up next to him for the night in his tent, and continues to race beside him the next day.

During these days, an undeniable connection is formed between Dion and the dog, and he decides to christen her Gobi. When he finishes the race second, he has already decided what to do with the little dog – he will take her home with him to Scotland, whatever the cost, however long it takes.

Thus begins a journey far longer and more strife-ridden than the race through the desert as Dion and his wife attempt to bring Gobi home. Setting up crowdfunding and receiving an overwhelming response, the media get involved and suddenly Gobi is famous. Relying on the kindness of people in the UK and China, Dion goes through so much to get his little stray dog home.

My opinion:

I seem to have a love for animal memoirs, and this story is no different. I loved it. The connection between Gobi and Dion is wonderful, and heartwarming to read. His determination to bring her home, and the kindness of complete strangers in their efforts to help him is amazing.

I also enjoyed reading about Dion’s own past. Gobi’s past will never be known, but it was interesting to read about how much Dion’s life has changed. What is also interesting is how, in his mission to bring Gobi home, his perspective on China and Chinese people is completely changed as he relies on countless people for their help and advice in his endeavours. His four month stay in Beijing was interesting for me to read about, especially his experiences with the pollution, and his unexpected but typical-of-China times spent in restaurants making new friends with the kind and giving locals. It sheds some light on what life in China is like for expats (or people who happen to be in the process of rescuing a dog!).

Living in China, I can see the extent of the stray dog problem here. Every day I walked past strays mooching in bins, sleeping in the shade of a tree on the pavement, wandering around the streets, begging outside restaurants. Some I will never go near for fear of losing a finger. Others I will happily crouch down next to and pet them. I want to take all of them home and give them wonderful forever homes, but as Dion found out it is neither easy nor cheap to take a dog out of the country. I admire his determination to bring Gobi home.

I think this is a well written book and I very much enjoyed it. If you like animals or have a soft spot for dogs, I suggest picking up this delightful, warming book.