Books

Top 8 Anticipated Reads: May 2020!

Note: These are NOT all new releases!

These are simply the book I’m most excited about reading soon! We all like discussing books, and especially when it’s all about being excited about particular books! I thought it would be nice to discuss the ones I’m hoping to read very soon!

As usual, for more information about each book, click on the cover picture to be taken to the relevant Goodreads page!


1. Girl, Woman, Other – Bernardine Evaristo

Genre: Literary fiction

I finally own a copy of this and I cannot wait to get to it! Especially as it not only co-won the Booker Prize 2019, it’s now been shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020! If that’s not a good enough reason to pick it up, I don’t know what is!


2. The Bass Rock – Evie Wyld

Genre: Literary fiction

I am fully expecting to love this novel after adoring All the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld last month! I even want to wait until I can get this in actual real book format before reading it, rather than buying it on Kindle. I just loved her writing and I’ve seen such great reviews about this one that I’m sure I’ll love it too.


3. The Guest List – Lucy Foley

Genre: Thriller

I LOVED The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley and so I’m pretty certain I’m going to enjoy this one too! Her writing is super immersive and the setting on a lonely island just makes this the perfect book! I can’t wait, but again, I want to get myself a physical copy to read!


4. A Gentleman in Moscow – Amor Towles

Genre: Historical Fiction

I adore historical fiction and I’ve heard great things about this one! Given that it’s literally about a man who can’t leave his hotel, and is forced to spend the rest of his life in it, I feel like the writing will have to be wonderful to compensate for the lack of….action I suppose! I’m guessing that’s what I’m going to get and I’m excited for it!


5. The Huntress – Kate Quinn

Genre: Historical Fiction

This is actually the choice of book for my best friend and I to read in May! This month was my choice, and I’m so excited to read this! A Nazi murderess and a Nazi hunter… yes please! Especially after watching the Amazon Prime show, Hunters a few months ago. This book sounds kind of similar, and I can’t wait!


6. 11/22/63 – Stephen King

Genre: kind of historical fiction / sci-fi…??

This sounds like quite a different King novel, but I appear to be accidentally reading one a month, and this one sounds really interesting! A man goes back in time to try to stop the assassination of JFK… I mean, how cool does this sound?!


7. A Thousand Ships – Natalie Haynes

Genre: Literary historical fiction

Another book from the Women’s Prize for Fiction shortlist, and one I’m incredibly interested in reading! A retelling of the Trojan war, from an all-female perspective! Last year I read The Silence of the Girls, and before that Circe, and I loved them, so I’m sure this will be right up my alley too!


8. Hamnet – Maggie O’Farrell

Genre: Literary historical fiction

If you’re in the book blogger world, this book needs zero introductions! Apparently it’s beautiful and heart wrenching and beautiful and did I mention beautiful?? I cannot wait, but I will have to, because again I want to own a physical copy! Ohhhhhh I’m so excited!


πŸ’­ Let’s Chat! πŸ’­

Have you read any of these books? What are your thoughts?

What books are you eagerly anticipating?

Let me know!

Happy reading! πŸ“šπŸ’•